Wine Powerball….

Last night, I went to play bingo on a whim with Nicole and Sandy. We arrived at the hall; I looked around, and quickly realized that we were rookies, newbies in the sport. Once upon a time, winning involved making a line across, diagonal, or four corners…now, you have ‘blackouts’, ‘double postage stamp’, ‘little diamond’, ‘electronic card play’, the list goes on and on…

I needed a tutorial.

I also wanted to win. Noticing the hardcore professional players in the room and their various configurations, cards taped together resembling king sized bed sheets, it became quite apparent that, in order to hit the jackpot, you had to play the odds. So, I bought in. My paltry single card became 6, then 8. I kept up, watching the balls on the screen, tracking the sea of numbers in front of me.

I didn’t win.

But it got me thinking about wine and wineries. Does it make sense to ‘play the odds’ as a winery? Make 30 different styles and varieties to cater to every palate? Or, focus on one card….

Because, at the end of the day, it’s one that hits the jackpot. I came close. However, I really enjoyed myself, had a great time with the girls. Perhaps that is the lesson learned…

Today, we crack open some vino on the show that reflect both philosophies in the winemaking realm. Check it out…

Maybe you’ll come out on top.

Cheers,

William

About terroirradioandtv

I am constantly humbled by the fact that I get paid to drink, talk, and walk wine. After 25 years in both hospitality and the alcohol industry, this blog provides a little education, and, hopefully, a touch of humor and perception to the world of wine and spirits. You can also find me on our internet show, wineguystv, and on clear channel/iheart radio as a co-host with Keith Miller and Becky Creighton on a weekly wine and food show called vineanddineradio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

